European Super League- all you need to know
Image Credit: Skysports

Twelve leading football clubs in Europe agreed to form a midweek competition, known as the European Super League, led by its ‘Founding Clubs’.

The proposal to form the new league, is meant to compete with rival, the UEFA Champions League.

Which clubs are involved in the European Super League?

The English Premier League’s big-six clubs are involved- Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Chelsea, Arsenal and Tottenham.
Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, AC Milan, Barcelona, Juventus and Inter Milan are also involved, with the twelve joining as the ‘Founding Clubs’.
According to Skysports, three more clubs will join the twelve before the season begins. According to the founding clubs, the competition ‘is intended to commence as soon as practicable’.
The French champions Paris Saint Germain and the reigning Champions League winners, Bayern Munich, have been excluded.

What does European Super League mean for the Champions League?

If the proposal to form the Super League is approved, the league will rival the Champions League and maybe replace it later.

What would the European Super League format be?

The Super League website reads:
“The Super League is a new European competition between 20 top clubs comprised of 15 founders and five annual qualifiers. There will be two groups of 10 clubs each, playing home and away fixtures within the group each year.
“Following the group stage, eight clubs will qualify for a knockout tournament, playing home and away until the single-match Super League championship, in a dramatic four-week end to the season.
“Games will be played midweek, and all clubs will remain in their domestic leagues.”

How would the European Super league be financed?

The American bank JP Morgan has committed about $5billion to the new project.
Their announcement stated, ‘The Founding Clubs will receive an amount of €3.5 billion solely to support their infrastructure investment plans and to offset the impact of the COVID pandemic.’

In their statement, the clubs themselves have outlined the format in three stages:

  • 20 participating clubs with 15 Founding Clubs and a qualifying mechanism for a further five teams to qualify annually based on achievements in the prior season.
  • Midweek fixtures with all participating clubs continuing to compete in their respective national leagues, preserving the traditional domestic match calendar which remains at the heart of the club game.
  • An August start with clubs participating in two groups of ten, playing home and away fixtures, with the top three in each group automatically qualifying for the quarter-finals. Teams finishing fourth and fifth will then compete in a two-legged play-off for the remaining quarter-final positions. A two-leg knockout format will be used to reach the final at the end of May, which will be staged as a single fixture at a neutral venue.

The developments came hours prior discussions by the UEFA to propose Champions League reforms. UEFA plans to include more teams in the Champions League.

According to reports, the reforms will take effect in 2024, expanding the competition to 36 teams, increasing the number of games from 125 to 225 and adjusting the format.

Previous articleIheanacho fires Leicester to first FA Cup final in 52 years
Next articleLiverpool star calls “emergency meeting” of Premier League captains to discuss Super League response